Songs and Thoughts for Meditation

 “Father God, just for today
Help me walk, the narrow way
Help me stand, when I might fall
Give me your strength, to hear your call

May my steps be worship
May my thoughts be of praise
May my words bring honor to your name.”
by Marc Alan Schelske

“The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.  He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.  You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.  Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever. A psalm of David.”  Psalm 23

“This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. O LORD, save us;
O LORD, grant us success. Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD. From the house of the LORD we bless you.  The LORD is God, and he has made his light shine upon us.  You are my God,and I will give you thanks; you are my God, and I will exalt you.  Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever.”  Psalm 118:24-29

 “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable– if anything is excellent or praiseworthy– think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me– put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.    Philippians 4:8,9

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight,
O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”  Psalm 19:14

     Often in our daily walk in life, it is the precious thoughts from God that will keep us on the “straight and narrow” and “purify ourselves from everything that contaminates body and spirit…”  (2 Cor. 7:1).

    Do your words and actions bring honor to God’s Name?
Is God your shepherd, leading and guiding your ways?
Do you recognize that this is God’s day… and honor him in it?
Are the thoughts of your day concentrated on God’s character traits and holiness?
Do you give a concerted effort to assure that your thoughts, actions and words are pleasing to God as a Christian and a shining light to people?
~~ Andy Burns

Leave a Reply

